The Republic of Haven

and its




            Founded in 1948, the Republic of Haven is comprised of three main inhabited islands and several smaller surrounding ones (largely uninhabited). Formerly known as Aipotu, the archipelago is situated in the Pacific Ocean at 180 degrees longitude and straddles the equator, with the zero degree latitude cutting across Central Island north of the capital city of Caelo.

            The republic contains the last remaining human population on the planet Earth, with just over two million people as of the most recent census. It is frequently said of Haven that it is the last bastion of humankind, and that should it fall, then so, too, goes all humanity. As a consequence, there is a deep awareness of how crucial it is to maintain the state and ensure the human race does not perish, lost forever to all but the pages of history.

            None are more conscious of this than the members of the government. The republic is a democracy, with powers divided between the legislative body – Parliament – and the executive branch – the president and the President's Council. It is the constitutional duty of the government to ensure the survival of the human race, and all actions taken are to be in accordance with this obligation. The government may not act in any way or pass any legislation that runs counter to its primary responsibility. Any government or officer of the government, from president to member of Parliament, may be charged with treason if he or she fails to fulfill this most essential tenet of the constitution.

            The government or an officer of the government may violate the rule of law if such actions are deemed in support of the primary constitutional obligation. Only the Supreme Court, however, may determine this.

            Each presidential term of office is five years. An individual may hold the Office of the President for no more than three consecutive terms, at which point he or she must vacate the office for the duration of at least one term before being eligible to run for office again. No individual may serve more than six terms as president. Members of Parliament are not restricted in the number of terms they may serve consecutively, but are limited to serving office for no more than sixty years or until the age of eighty – whichever comes first.

            The president cannot enter Parliament without invitation, and is required to appear before that body when issued a Parliamentary Summons. Similarly, the prime minister, who is head of the governing party, must meet with the president at Government House (the official presidential manor and office of the executive branch) when requested by the president.

            The president has veto power over any legislation tabled by Parliament. Any vetoed legislation is returned to Parliament for amendment, at which point it may be presented once again to the executive branch of the government. The executive branch also has the right to make amendments to legislation, which in turn can be vetoed by Parliament. However, neither the executive branch nor the legislative branch can reject a given piece of legislation more than three times. If a piece of legislation is rejected a third time it is sent to the Supreme Court for arbitration, at which point the officers of the court must determine the merits of the legislation or lack thereof and rule upon them. The decisions of the Supreme Court are final.

            The first president of the republic was William Henderson. Born in San Francisco in 1908, Henderson's administration governed for two consecutive terms and established many of the ground rules that determined the manner in which the relationship between the executive and legislative branches of government was to be conducted.

            Henderson's period in office is often regarded as one of the most important periods of governance in the history of the republic. It was during this time that the fundamental nature of the relationship with the Third Reich was affirmed and the basic parameters of that relationship laid out in written treaties signed by both nations.

            Henderson's administration instituted national universal health care and saw to the establishment of post-secondary education on the islands. It was during his time in office that the Mandatory Service Act was passed, and also when most of the rationing system was set in place and made law. Henderson began the infrastructure programs that would eventually link the three islands.

            Julian Margolliean followed Henderson as president. Margolliean was born in Auckland, New Zealand, and also served for two consecutive terms. He was shortly into a third term at the time of his untimely death in the crash of the presidential airship.

Margolliean was especially interested in education and insisted the republic could not hope to thrive unless all education was free. Under his administration the cost of the first post-secondary degree of those attending university was covered by the government, with further degrees paid for according to need.

            Margolliean was a wealthy philanthropist and prior to taking office paid for the construction of the much-praised Margolliean Camera that is the jewel in the crown of Haeden University. He continued his philanthropy throughout his two terms, and willed his money to Haven's major charities when he died.

            Margolliean's time in office was not without controversy, though he is perhaps counted as the best-loved of all those who have served the people. Conspiracy theories abound as to the true nature of his death, some arguing that the loss of the airship was no accident and was the act of a group of well-placed individuals who were against the president's plans to let the public know more about the secret terms of "The Articles of Peace." He was on his way to Berlin – purportedly to discuss the matter of disclosure – when the presidential airship crashed in the Pacific off the coast of North America.

            The current president of the republic, Quinton Mallory, is the first to have been born in Haven. He began life in Point Barrow, but grew interested in politics at an early age and moved to Caelo while still in his teens. He attended Haeden and received a degree in public administration. Soon after that he joined the LRP – the Liberal Republic Party – and was elected and sat in opposition when only twenty-one. When the LRP defeated the Conservative Unionists, Mallory became a minister in the cabinet of Prime Minister Paul Joachim-Pruse.

            After a decade in government, Mallory left office to vie for the seat of president of the republic. He failed, but was nevertheless picked to serve on the President's Council. In his early forties he made yet another bid for the office of the president and this time succeeded. He is currently halfway through his second term in office.